top of page
  • Writer's picturePaige Beresford

The Art of Highland Dancing: Best foot forward for dancer Isabel Macpherson

Highland Dancing is a celebration of the Scottish spirit; a spectacular combination of strength, agility, movement, music, and costume. Isabel Macpherson, a 22-year-old dancer from Glasgow, tells her story of how she found highland dancing and her passion for one of Scotland's more traditional dance styles.


Highland dancing is an art as well as a sport. Competing in one dance has been compared to running an 800-meter sprint with your arms held in the air, while leaping, turning, smiling and wearing a heavy woollen kit.


The final product is graceful, precise and beautiful to watch.


Isabel Macpherson has been highland dancing for 12 years. She has been a dancer all her life and has competed in ballet, pointe, jazz and modern dancing. After getting into ballet through her school at a young age, Isabel looked into other dance schools in her area to develop skills in other styles.


“I had seen highland dancing multiple times and knew it would be something I would enjoy,” Isabel said. “It was also a style that wasn't so common. I did ballet from the age of four until I was seventeen and I was able to take up pointe at the age of fourteen when I was a strong enough dancer. I took on highland dancing when I was ten and still do it now.”

Isabel winning a competition

Not to be mistaken for Riverdance-style Irish step dancing, Highland is more like a combination of Riverdance and ballet. Dancers make it look effortless, but it takes a lot of hard work. After years of practice, Isabel has participated in many shows and dance exams.


“Ballet was my strongest style of dance and I often got distinction. Being able to take part in dance shows was also amazing and I was delighted to be given a solo in my final dance show. Highland dancing has always provided me with multiple opportunities to part take in dance displays with my most memorable being at an International Law Conference at the Balmoral Hotel.”


Not only does Isabel dance, but she also studies Veterinary Medicine and Surgery at the University of Glasgow and works at Charles River Laboratories.

“When I’m dancing it’s all I am thinking about, so it’s a great way to forget about everyday stresses."

“I have met some incredible people -- everyone at dancing is so supportive and encouraging," Isabel said. It is also a great way to keep fit and allows you to challenge yourself. It has helped build my confidence. I have also loved encouraging my younger sisters to take up dancing.”

Isabel (right) before a competition with her friend

At the young age of 22, Isabel has already competed at the Edinburgh Fringe and she marks it as one of her biggest achievements.


“I have busked at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and loved seeing the tourists experience a traditional type of dancing. In recent years I have been able to compete and going to the Highland Games has been a great experience.”


However, as for the future, Isabel is aiming to use her dancing to travel and participate in even bigger events.


“I would love to be able to participate in the Edinburgh or even an International Tattoo,” Isabel said. “But being able to travel due to dancing would be amazing.”


With her studies, her work and her dancing, Isabel seems to have a lot on her plate. But she shows that not only can you do it all, but you can be exceptional at the same time.

359 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page